Phil Dwyer Sextet & Laila Biali @ TD Victoria International JazzFest (June 26, 2012)

Hello blogging world! I am very excited to be reblogging this article, even though I never reblog, but I’m making an exception this time since I wrote it myself!!! This article, a concert review of Phil Dwyer and his sextet featuring Laila Biali at the Victoria International JazzFest, was just posted to Wavemaker Magazine and I am thrilled to be a part of their team now. Please read on and enjoy!

WAVE MAKER MAGAZINE

This summer’s 28th annual TD Victoria International JazzFest marks the unofficial opening of summer for us rain-weary Victorians.  Hundreds of Canada’s and the world’s greatest jazz musicians converge on Victoria for 10 days of performances and workshops.  Concert venues range from the expensive Royal Theatre to free lunchtime concerts inCentennial Square.  Each year the Alix Goolden Performance Hall at the Victoria Conservatory of Music hostsCanada’s greatest stars for low prices; the old church’s acoustics and ambience serving jazz music’s subtle harmonies perfectly.

Three days before the show I received a phone call from a friend inviting me to see Phil Dwyer perform at the Goolden.  He had already bought my ticket; I had no choice but to go.  I hadn’t seen Dwyer perform since a high school band festival four years prior, and it was likely the only JazzFest concert I’d make it to, so I accepted.  Dwyer was…

View original post 651 more words

Leave a Reply

