Dad’s American Vacation

One of the advantages of being a high school teacher is getting two months of vacations each summer.  My dad, a high school teacher in Ontario, spends much of his summers exploring around the continental United States.  This summer, on his trip out West to visit me, my Dad brought me along on his travels by sending me postcards of the places he visited.  Check out some highlights below:

First stop for my dead while heading west was Oshkosh, WI for the annual EAA AirVenture Fly-In (sent around 30 July).  Some highlights this year were the Canadian SkyHawks parachute demonstration team and the special group of Piper Cubs celebrating  the 75th anniversary of the famous little yellow bird.

Montana was the first stop on the way back east (18 August).  And dad, I’ve never stopped at the silver dollar bar.

Love this place!  I first watched Close Encounters of the Third Kind here and a helicopter flew over the tower just as the aliens first showed up in the film.  Made me jump so high…

The famous Wall Drug Store!  And below, the famous faces of Mt. Rushmore, where I first met Abraham Lincoln.

Really cool Mt. Rushmore postmark!

The Iowa 80, the world’s largest truck stop, a place I’m familiar with after sheltering there during a massive thunderstorm in 2007.  My dad and I were on a motorcycle trip from Colorado to Ontario and spent most of the night in the in-house movie theatre or in the 30,000 square foot Super Truck Showroom.

Thanks Dad!  Glad you had a good trip!

3 responses to “Dad’s American Vacation

  1. Well then my Son, some day we’ll have to meet half way across the continent at the 50,000 Silver $ Bar and raise a glass together in big sky country.

  2. Pingback: Going Postal: Summer Recap | @befaster·

Leave a Reply

