Lomowall for Fall – Lomography Film

Today I returned to my passion.  Ok, so I have many passions, but I think this one will last through my entire life.

This passion is photography.

There’s something about film photography which captures me even more than digital, and that’s why I am big promoter and user of Lomography cameras, the analogue type that lets you control almost all aspects of the process and (sometimes most importantly for me) embraces the “mistakes” and “accidents” as beauty.

Today I not only developed a roll of film in the UVic darkroom (and it was great to be back in the process, although I do tend to get bored being in there all on my own) and I also scanned in two colour rolls that I had developed a week ago.  Later in the day I uploaded those 73 photos to my Lomohome in two albums, making my photos uploaded total surpass 900 and my albums reach 40!  Below is my celebratory Lomowall, but you’ll have to visit my Lomohome-page to experience it fully:

My Lomowall: Victoria in the Fall, featuring photos from my two newest rolls.

One is a roll from my Diana F+ with 35mm adapter that dates back all the way to June 2012 when my mom and I took a quick trip to Campbell River for a holiday.  It also includes some impressively poorly framed photos from my Paint-In the Square art festival in July and some from the October Photowalk run by the UVic Photoclub which took place in downtown Victoria.  The colours are amazing, even without touch-ups on PhotoShop (I’m an old-school Lomographer, I don’t do anything other than colour restoration on my scanner, which in itself brings the colours closer to print quality – a scanner often makes film look slightly more washed out than it should be).  The film I used was Lomography’s own 400ISO colour negative 35mm film.

Amazing colours thanks to the Diana’s plastic lens and Lomography’s saturated film.

Martin Lind at the Paint-In the Square with his Yashica, a camera I am very jealous for. Check out his shots at his Flickr.

A very blurry but interestingly set up photo of the display model for The Union, a new Victoria development.

The second roll is from my trusty but recently forgotten Pentax K1000.  This camera is a beauty.  The solid feeling you get when you lug that thing up to your face, the time it takes to focus through the dirty crystal, and the physical force of the “ka-chunk” shutter (my copyright on that term) all adds up to an amazing experience, and having photos that turn out even better than you thought is a feeling I’ll never grow tired of.  Some of the photos below actually keep seeming better the more I look at them!  The colours on this roll were a bit more faded than I thought, even with the colour restoration, but I like that old, tired look.  The film for this roll was Lomography’s 100ISO colour negative 35mm film.

Possibly my favourite photo from this roll, this soft focus is something I’d expect more from my Diana, but the depth of field is made perfect by the Pentax 50mm lens.

Another one I’m really happy with, the scene was just too perfect not to shoot. Bike in Dragon Alley.

Here’s an example of how the colours were slightly faded. On the Mac I used while scanning these oranges were much brighter and deeper, and I feel that if I had it printed it would look more contrasty as well, but still happy with it.

The photographer, at once both shy and vain, takes his picture in a reflection, but remains hidden behind the lens…

The scanner I used was an Epson Perfection V750 Pro located at the UVic Library.  There is often a lot of dust and even food particles on the screen, so hopefully that doesn’t show up too much on the photos…

Leave a Reply

